PlanetMinis Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
newbie here to the planit minis site. i know some guys on here so i thought i would drop in and share some builds we have going on. this is a 71 honda sl70 that my son has decided to rebuild himself,he has been working on this for a couple months now and is doing a great job. let us know what ya think.started with a bare frame and he took it from there,had frame swingarm and wheels powdercoated then put in new 140cc monster motor,laced up his wheels himself. he is off to a great start consdering he is 14 and this is his first build

·
Registered
1,884 Posts
Is that can of 'Never Dull' or grease for bearings and what not i see in th background on the office chair in the second picture? nice project/bike.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
just a can of grease the red box is all the taps and dies. powder coating looks good but i bet he spent 3 or 4 hours taping all the threads lol....thanks for the props we should have the sheet metal back from paint this week and post up the pics soon

·
Registered
1,878 Posts
Very nice. Interesting to see an SL with blacked-out frame and wheels. It'll be really interesting to see how that looks with the tank and seat and fenders back on. Kind of old-meets-new.

I wish I'd had my act as together when I was 14 as your son seems to, looking at that. When I was 14 I had a Suzuki DS100 with two different-colored fenders on it, forks off an old low-pipe TS100, mismatched tires and an MX silencer, which added at least .000073 hp and about 900 decibels.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·