PlanetMinis Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2000 XR50.

What I have done to it is bought a Pitking Exhaust tip and added a Uni-Filter. My bike seems to bog down in 1st, seems to be a little more slow in 2nd. 3rd is good. Its only slow when I hammer on the throttle. What should I do, I was thinking of changing the Jet, not sure what to go with.

Can anyone help??? What do I need to do, go back to stock? Want more power without changing the head!:confused:

·
Registered
2,896 Posts
your bike will have a lot more flow, that filter will let a lot more air in and tip make the exhaust a lot less restrictive, so youre going to have to jet it for sure if you haven't already.. Thats probably what your problem is..

almost anytime you do performance mods, you need to jet the carb to compensate for what you did.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Any ideas on what jet and what size I should use? I am new to the 50's! Race quads for awhile and the 50's seem to be a little more tempermental! Thanks guys! I was told by a pro mini moto guy to adjust the air screw? What do you think?

·
Registered
830 Posts
I have installed a few exhaust tips and after market pipes on fiddys and every one of them has hurt the power. i have tried rejetting and it didnt help. some people will tell you other wise because it is louder so they think it is faster. from my experience stock fiddys dont need a more free flowing exhaust it only helps on big bore equiped bikes.

·
Registered
92 Posts
ya man jetting is neccesary any time u change air flow weather it is exhaust or intake and im not sure wat jet i used ill look it up here in a min i got a stock 50 w. out of box uni filter and fmf factory 4.1 and it runs like a raped ape

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
so you think i should take that tip off, I was not going to speed gain, just sound! I was not thinking that it would give me any gain in speed!