PlanetMinis Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased an 04 crf50 for a few hundy. Bike is absolutely wore out and engine is blow. I'm new to this and need some direction. The bike has been a little modified but still stock ride height but, in very rough shape. Basically everything cosmetic needs be replaced. Question is, do I try to keep it stock as possible or turn it into a pit bike with piranha suspension and engine in mind. I cant seem to capture what these machines are worth so any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,405 Posts
I'm more of a vintage bike guy...but from what I've seen...unless is was in pristine stock condition...it's not really a collectors kinda bike. I'd say you could do anything you want with it. Make it fun...for YOU.

·
Registered
4,053 Posts
From what I can tell at first glance it has some decent parts on it. Tall bar kit with Sano triple clamp, and presumably Sano fork springs and bushings and +1 legs, billet throttle, two bros. footpegs, aftermarket skidplate and exhaust. If it's a Honda motor that's not a bad buy for a few hundred. A good degreaser and/or simple green bath would do that bike wonders. As others said choice is up to you. But in stock form like you have here, they are a blast. If it's Honda motor I would rebuild that over going chinese crate motor. If you want to build a chinese bike you might as well just buy one complete. By the time you build this one up you will have taken off every part on the bike except a few items.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'm more of a vintage bike guy...but from what I've seen...unless is was in pristine stock condition...it's not really a collectors kinda bike. I'd say you could do anything you want with it. Make it fun...for YOU.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·