PlanetMinis Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4,659 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a 0.38mm thick COPPER head gasket for my motor. I have never used one before; I always used the paper/metal/paper type with the metal ring around the bore part. Well, anyway, do I need to use any sort of sealant on the gasket? Silicone sealants always say on the tube not to use where it might contact gas and specifically say don't use it for head gaskets. The only reason I ask is that paper gaskets compress and shape themselves to seal between the head and cylinder deck, but I don't think a copper gasket will compress much at all. So basically, do I need sealer and if so what kind?

·
Registered
414 Posts
arlindsay1992 said:
I bought a 0.38mm thick COPPER head gasket for my motor. I have never used one before; I always used the paper/metal/paper type with the metal ring around the bore part. Well, anyway, do I need to use any sort of sealant on the gasket? Silicone sealants always say on the tube not to use where it might contact gas and specifically say don't use it for head gaskets. The only reason I ask is that paper gaskets compress and shape themselves to seal between the head and cylinder deck, but I don't think a copper gasket will compress much at all. So basically, do I need sealer and if so what kind?

Use this...just let it tack up before u put it together

·
Registered
706 Posts
I don't know if I'd use any kind of silicon sealer (rvt sealant, or yamabond or what not)

as I'm sure none of them types of sealants will be good enough to handle combustion temperatures or combustion pressures..

·
Registered
2,542 Posts
Like stated above use the Copper Coat spray. Put a liberal coat on both sides let it tack up and slap it together. The stuff works great. I have been using it for years and have put a few engines together re using the gaskets with just a coat of it and never any problems.

·
Registered
8,623 Posts