PlanetMinis Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Before the GROM was cool with it's 125cc motor and it's 5 speed trans, there was the ZB50! I never thought I'd own one, frankly, I thought they were kinda lame. Sometimes, opportunities arise and it's hard to say no.

I'm currently working to get this thing shipped from CA to GA. It hasn't run in about 7 years, which is when the owner suddenly passed away. The brother, is selling on his behalf. I ensured him it was going to a good home and it'll get lots of love and pavement time.

The details of the bikes exact conditions are murky, the brother lives in Texas and only recently went to check out the bike (brother also had two Z50M's but those are being kept). I have a few photos to go off. Overall the bike looks to be fairly complete, I'm no expert but I immediately noticed the lack of blinkers and the dents in the tank. I also noticed a key in the ignition which is fantastic! I also caught relatively low mileage of 445 miles, but it seems the bike has been through it's paces.

For those who own or have owned these bikes, what are some thing I should look for to upgrade. I have access to Japan for parts, I'd like to find an exhaust and some no fade Kitaco pads minimum. I have already found a black MONKEY R tank and the MONKEY R tail fender piece. It doesn't bother me if I'll have OEM blinkers but I'll continue to search.

• Should I try to grab a front wheel with a disc, would it be easy to set up? Do the ZB forks support caliper or do I also need Monkey R/RT fork legs?
  • Motor swaps - 125, 140, 170, 190? I've seen guys do 190's, that might be the goal.
  • What hard to find "rare" JDM parts should I look for? I'm not very familiar with the scene as I am with the Monkey's.
Tire Wheel Fuel tank Automotive lighting Automotive tire

Tire Land vehicle Wheel Fuel tank Vehicle

Tire Wheel Fuel tank Automotive lighting Automotive fuel system