PlanetMinis Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need two bikes for my kids to race in the local harescramble series. The rules for their age class is "50cc with automatic clutch". They have ridden the PW, TTR and KTM. Everything about the KTM is great except the engine. It's too peaky for them and too much maintenance for me. They are more comfortable with the TTR engine, but the chassis of the KTM is really nice (good suspension, disc brakes).

What I want is something like a KTM chassis with a TTR engine. Does anyone make such a bike? Being around 50 pounds, they don't need any more power than a TTR, so stock motor is fine. But more power is okay as long as the delivery is smooth. The biggest problem I've having in my search is that I can't tell junk from quality. I'm new to the mini world and don't know who builds a good product. They will race these bikes for 3 seasons before being old enough to enter the 65 class. I want to buy 2 complete bikes, so maybe some company is willing to build these to my specs? Or is something available that will last many years?

·
Registered
5,410 Posts
You could build up a CRF50 with some really good suspension/brakes. Power would be around the same as a TTR50 (I believe). Plus you can do a lot to a stock 50 motor to make it better at 50cc. (As I found out, trying to build a stock motor for vegas)

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Located in central Florida. These bikes will be used a lot for many years, so I don't mind doing some driving or shipping to get what I want.