PlanetMinis Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm new to working on bikes, just picked up a '72 CT70HK1 a couple weeks ago. Seems to be in good condition, starts, idles, and runs well up until I'd say 80-90% throttle while riding. Once throttle is opened up past that point, the bike begins to cut out intermittently and I lose power until reducing throttle and letting the bike run happily again.

Things I've noticed/tried:
  • Carb is a new repo unit and looks very clean, not sure where from as there's no branding, but it looks like a clone of stock to an untrained eye.
  • This does not appear to happen in neutral, can rev very high when not under load.
  • Putting the choke on helps while riding near WOT, the bike doesn't seem to cut out as much if at all.
  • Original spark plug was totally sooted.
  • Checked and re-set the carb idle and mixture screws, seemed to be well tuned already.
  • Good fuel flow through the carb drain tube while petcock is on.
  • Adjusted carb float down to 25/32" with goal to increase fuel loading and prevent starving (this seemed to make the bike harder to start, with no other effects).
  • Replaced main jet (originally #60) with #58, bike seemed to lug even earlier with the smaller jet, felt very different.
    • I had a new spark plug in at this point but stupidly did not pull to check if it was running lean or still rich...
  • Replaced main jet (#58) with #62, bike seemed to run better overall but still cuts out near WOT.
  • Checked new spark plug, already starting to get sooty. Spark color is a purple-blue.
At this point I feel like I've reached my extent of what to try from reading the primary threads I've found so far, other than maybe to try cleaning the points and getting a slightly better spark, or replacing the carb entirely. Any insight or suggestions here would be much appreciated!

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
MjA0MjcyOA-c0d770a0.png